A Month at BTH


As I wrote in a previous post, I have been visiting the Blekinge Institute of Technology in Karlskrona, Sweden, for one month as a guest lecturer. This month is now over and I am back in Bamberg. It has been a highly interesting and stimulating time, thanks to the people there. During this time, I was able to learn a lot of new things about teaching, academic live, and software engineering. Not to forget, I could also further improve my swedish skills.

Many people have contributed to making this month an unforgetable one and I would like to thank all of them. First and foremost, I want to thank Prof. Claes Wohlin for accepting me in his group and my advisor Prof. Guido Wirtz for giving me the time to go abroad. Without the consent of both of them, none of this would have been possible. Special thanks goes to Kennet Henningsson for putting up with all the organizational issues of my stay, welcoming me in Karlskrona and giving me a first tour through the city.

I want to thank all members of the Software Engineering Research Lab for welcoming me in their group and integrating me into the group life during the past month. Special thanks goes to Prof. Jürgen Börstler for picking me up on my first day and introducing me to the group, to Kai Petersen, Nauman Ali and Bogdan Marculescu for lengthy, extended, extended, extended coffee-break discussions, to Prof. Tony Gorschek for advice on what movies I definitely have to watch and to Mahvish Khurum for a delicious Biryani.

I would like to thank Mikael Svahnberg, Dragos Illie, Carina Nilsson, Prof. Sara Eriksén and Hans Kylbäck for releasing me on their students and giving me the opportunity to teach in an international context.

Last but not least, I would like to draw some attention to the ERASMUS STA1 program (link in german) which set the framing conditions for all this (and which will hopefully reimburse me for parts of my costs as soon as I’ve handed in the remaining forms and receipts). The ERASMUS program is quite well-known for exchanging students in Europe, but it can do more than that. Like in my case, also teachers can do exchanges via this program and spend one to up to six weeks at another university to teach and establish contacts. This is an excellent and relatively unbureaucratic way to fund exchanges of which too few of my collegues are aware of. For anybody who has the chance, I can only recommend to consider it!

Leave a Reply

