Christos Nikolaou Memorial Ph.D. Award at SummerSoc 2016


I am very happy to announce that my Ph.D. thesis, titled Portability of Process-Aware and Service-Oriented Software – Evidence and Metrics, has been distinguished with the Christos Nikolaou Memorial Ph.D. Award at the 10th Symposium and Summer School On Service-Oriented Computing (SummerSoc), June 27 – July 1, 2016 in Crete, Greece. The award was established to memorize the work of Christos Nikolaou, the former rector of the University of Crete and valued contributor to teaching and research in the field of service-oriented computing. The award ceremony was joined with SummerSoc, a summer school on service-oriented computing of which Christos was one of the founders, and sponsored by Starttech Ventures.

I had submitted an application for the award at the beginning of March, which was then reviewed by an international committee of professors that included people who are very well-known in the field and also far beyond: Wolfgang Reisig (HU Berlin), Theo Härder (University of Kaiserslautern), Schahram Dustdar (TU Vienna), Willem-Jan van den Heuvel (Tilburg University), Frank Leymann (University of Stuttgart), Kostas Magoutis (University of Ioannina and FORTH), Bernhard Mitschang (University of Stuttgart), Maria Papadopouli (University of Crete and FORTH), and Dimitris Plexousakis (University of Crete and FORTH). I have been told that there were long discussions in the committee about the different applicants and their work. In the end, my work prevailed and the honor of the award fell to me. As a result, I attended SummerSoc last week on Crete, could talk for roughly an hour about my thesis, and was awarded the certificate.

Christos Nikolaou Ph.D. Award at SummerSoc. From left to right: Prof. Dr. Guido Wirtz (my Ph.D. advisor, Uni Bamberg), Prof. Dr. Dr. Frank Leymann (Uni Stuttgart), me, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reisig (HU Berlin)
Christos Nikolaou Ph.D. Award at SummerSoc. From left to right: Prof. Dr. Guido Wirtz (my Ph.D. advisor, Uni Bamberg), Prof. Dr. Dr. Frank Leymann (Uni Stuttgart), me, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reisig (HU Berlin)

Obviously, I am flattered to be considered worthy of such an award. So, I want to take this opportunity to thank the people that have made all this possible. Many thanks to the award committee and to Starttech Ventures for setting up the award, for the time they invested into reviewing the applicants and their work, and for organizing SummerSoc. I am grateful to Guido Wirtz for coming to SummerSoc to see my presentation and participating in the ceremony, he is no longer my boss so this cannot be taken for granted. Not to forget, also thanks to the computer science department at Karlstad University, my new employer, for funding the conference travel.

SummerSoc has really been a wonderful experience. I have met many excellent people, not limited to the committee members. I can only recommend the venue to Ph.D. students in the area of service-oriented computing: You get inspiring talks and tutorials, as well as plenty of opportunities for networking. Hopefully, I will also be back next year!

3 thoughts on “Christos Nikolaou Memorial Ph.D. Award at SummerSoc 2016

Leave a Reply

